SHORT ON THYME:

6 May

Diets have a way of doing it to you, making you eat when you dont want all because of that gosh darn amazing cookie stack in the magazine. Hey I took a styling course at Pratt, covert albeit, since we were finger wagged ‘NO CLASSES ELSEWHERE OR ELSE…” That was back in the days when you believed what you were being admonished with.

Our threat weapon was expulsion but I did it anyway with my teacher’s encouragement. Ahhh the smell of cookies near perfect and pinning clothes to make them ‘fit’ on camera was divine.

So I knew better than to start a recipe without reading it through first. Such is the way of the accidental baker. I did take my sweet time getting around to the recipe. Flour measured one day. Sea salt spooned the next. The bowl sat counterside. Butter had to melt and I was too pre occupied to make it comply.

I had saved brown sugar packets from all my Starbucks traveller of coffee accoutrements. Something meditative of ripping open one packet at a time until a cup plus was measured out. 2 1/2 cups flour ; 1/2 tsp fine sea salt. 1 cup – 2 sticks butter ; 2/3 cup fine sugar and 2 tbsp finely chopped lemon thyme.

2 sticks butter became 2 1/2. Leaving the ball of flour in the fridge for 20 minutes became overnight. Leaving the dough sit counter top was a workable idea. No rolling pin no matter, fingers and a fork worked well enough although my tummy did fill nicely with raw dough here and there. And then it struck me….. no bake time or temperature written in the recipe.

NOW I know how Chef Gordon Ramsey makes his dough… one incomplete recipe at a time. Beat you Chef G. Extra butter, no THYME at all, still added up to one heck of a cookie sliced pre baking into finger like snaps………..

Bon appetito Chef Ramsay. Next time? Dont keep the oven temperature and baking time to to yourself….. inquiring dieting minds need to know. Guesswork was good this time. Out

2 Responses to “SHORT ON THYME:”

  1. Chef Shelley May 8, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Thanks for boosting http://www.shortonthyme.com.

    • THE-REPORT-CARD July 11, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

      My pleasure. Keep me posted. Love to support initiative!
      Carrie

Leave a Reply

