8 Jan

The Alliance Defending Freedom’s petition to the U.S. Supreme Court in the case Town of Greece v. Galloway has submitted an amicus brief on behalf of 49 Members of Congress. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit ruled in GALLOWAY that despite the town’s highly inclusive policy that allowed even practicing Wiccans and atheists to offer civic prayers the. use of public prayer before town meetings in the town of Greece was an unconstitutional violation of the First Amendment. The AMICUS BRIEF was written by the FRC counsel comparing prayer before town meetings to prayer for the U.S. House of Representatives. US House of Representatives prayer is not said before the Representatives. Prayer is said in the HOUSE from where it is piped in to each and every Representatives office. Chaplain Black on an earlier occasion had agreed with author requiring legislators to actually WALK to gather in prayer each day might make the bipartisan difference legislators crow about on news shows. “The Court looked approvingly to legislative prayer dating to the Founding, in the Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention, and First Congress that drafted the Establishment Clause.” Prayers offered in Congress today are not similar to prayers offered before the founders Congress in that the Founders were present not virtual IF even paying attention at all.

With the HONEST definition of Separation between Church and State being the length of time and distance it takes to walk from an office to stand before the Chaplain the FORTY NINE men and women signed on might set this example of DAILY PRAYER.

Representatives in the Congress of the United States joined as AMICI CURIAE in the brief are three Members of the 112th Congress who vacated their House seats on January 3rd 2013 & four new Congressmen who joined the House January 3rd. All other amici served in the House in both the 112th Congress and the 113th Congress.

The forty nine Members of the House of Members of Congress are the Honorable:

Rep. Sandy Adams                   Rep. Robert Aderholt               Rep. Michele Bachmann

Rep. Dan Benishek                   Rep. Diane Black                     Rep. Marsha Blackburn

Rep. Paul Broun                       Rep. Kevin Cramer                  Rep. Jeff Duncan

Rep. Randy Forbes                  Rep. Virginia Foxx                    Rep. Trent Franks

Rep. Scott Garrett                    Rep. Phil Gingrey                      Rep. Louie Gohmert

Rep. Bob Goodlatte                 Rep. Morgan Griffith                 Rep. Andy Harris        

Rep. Vicky Hartzler                  Rep. Tim Huelskamp                Rep. Jim Jordan

Rep. Mike Kelly                       Rep. Steve King                       Rep. Jeff Landry

Rep. James Lankford                Rep. Cynthia Lummis                Rep. Mike McIntyre    

Rep. David McKinley               Rep. Mark Meadows               Rep. Luke Messer

Rep. Randy Neugebauer           Rep. Kristi Noem                     Rep. Steven Palazzo

Rep. Steve Pearce                    Rep. Robert Pittenger               Rep. Mike Pompeo

Rep. Tom Price                        Rep. Reid Ribble                      Rep. Todd Rokita

Rep. Steve Scalise                    Rep. Lamar Smith                     Rep. Steve Southerland

Rep. Scott Tipton                     Rep. Mike Turner                     Rep. Tim Walberg

Rep. Daniel Webster                Rep. Brad Wenstrup                 Rep. Allen West

Representative Lynn Westmoreland


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: